The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Is gravity caused by the spin of an object?  (Read 1169 times)

Offline flysci

• First timers
    • View Profile
Is gravity caused by the spin of an object?
« on: 27/02/2016 18:14:01 »
I'm not a professional scientist or mathematician, so I'm not able to express myself with scientific terminology, but I've been thinking about this for a while and was just wondering if anyone could tell me whether any part of my thinking has any merit.

My thoughts are:

Rather than gravity being a force in its own right, could it just be the difference between the attractive force of a spinning body and the repulsive centrifugal force of the particles spinning around it?

What I mean is, could all spinning bodies have an entity at the centre pulling particles towards it and when anything spins around it, the centrifugal force of those particles repels them from the central entity hence creating the differential we call gravity?

In a bit more detail:

Could there be an entity at the centre of all spinning bodies that possess a gravitational effect, that creates an attractive force e.g. a black hole or something else, which is either only created once a body starts spinning or the cause of a body to start spinning?

Then, once that body starts spinning, the particles that are attracted to it spin around the centre. The speed of circulation creates a centrifugal force, which is a repulsive force against the attractive force of the entity at the centre of the spinning body.

The difference between the attractive force and the repulsive force is what we call gravity.