The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Relative Temperatures on Planets  (Read 3106 times)

Offline vdurbha

• First timers
    • View Profile
Relative Temperatures on Planets
« on: 26/02/2007 07:16:34 »
Hi,

I have a few questions on the relative temperatures on various planets in our solar system.

1. Is it true that as we move farther away from the Sun, the average temperatures on the planets decrease? Is that the reason why Pluto is very cold when compared to that of the earth?

2. Is it because the intensity of light that reaches those planets is lesser? How do we measure the intensity of light? Is it energy per unit area of the surface of that planet? How is it related to heat and temperature on that particular planet? What's the relation between the energy given out by a light source and the distance from the light source?

Thanks,
Viswanath

paul.fr

« Reply #1 on: 26/02/2007 07:50:56 »
I'm no expert on this but, i think it somewhat depends on the planets atmosphere, as well as their distance away from the sun.
Earth has an average temperature of +15 degrees, whereas the moon is -15 degrees.

I think this is down to things such as clouds, which act as greenhouse gasses and warm the earth up. I have no doubt that someone will give you a much more concise and accurate answer.

Offline daveshorts

• Neilep Level Member
  • Physics, Experiments
    • View Profile
    • http://www.chaosscience.org.uk
« Reply #2 on: 26/02/2007 11:50:44 »
If you think of a planet as a whole (and ignore radioactive decay) it can only gain or loose heat by radiation. If it is receiving more energy than it is loosing it will heat up and vice versa.

The hotter something is the more energy it radiates in fact this is proportional to T4, and the hotter it is the shorter the wavelength that the bulk of this radiation is happening at.