The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: What are the consequences of brain surgery to remove the amygdala?  (Read 2764 times)

Offline rossala

• First timers
    • View Profile
April 2016

Dear Friends,

First of all, nice to talk with you.

You probably know about 100.000+ scientific PUBMED articles talking about amygdala and its pivotal role in anxiety, panic, bipolar, PTSD, depression, and many other “stress” and “dissociative” disorders and/or symptoms.

I studied them because of my illness (very severe/resistant Agoraphobia + Bipolar, since 2008).

Last month I went in Asia to do a Gamma Knife surgery and remove my right amygdala (about 2 cubic centimetres 20% bigger then normal.. and left one).

Despite 20+ years of literature I am one of the first making this innovative treatment.

Maybe this fact can interest the community.

My best greetings from Tuscany.

Ross
« Last Edit: 22/04/2016 00:44:38 by chris »

Offline Ophiolite

• View Profile
Re: Amygdala.
« Reply #1 on: 18/04/2016 09:50:46 »
Have there been any noticeable effects?

Offline exothermic

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 18/04/2016 22:41:04 »
A Gamma Knife surgery and remove my right amygdala (about 2 cubic centimetres 20% bigger then normal.. and left one).

Stereotactic radiosurgical bilateral amygdalectomy for anxiety disorder & bipolar? Yikes.... I hope the benefits outweigh the risks! Good luck.

Offline eeyore

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 20/04/2016 23:50:37 »
Bipolar disorder can be a serious and life threatening illness - having significantly increased risk of suicide. I am frankly appalled to see the forum moderator allow this anecdotal and very questionable account simply plopped down here with no further comment. As if it were advice about fixing one's car.