The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Is victimization in school age a good indicator of future life success?  (Read 337 times)

Offline researcherer

• First timers
    • View Profile
Hello friends,

I had a conversation with a scientist friend of mine.

My friend, during the conversation, disclosure to me that he was a bullying victim in school. I responded to him, almost automatically, that I had been also a bullying victim in school.

Indeed, I had some bad experiences when I was schoolboy but I do not know if these experiences corresponds directly to the definition of bullying: “a repeated verbal, physical, social or psychological behavior that is harmful and involves the misuse of power by an individual or group towards one or more persons.”

I have to say that I am a religious person (I am a Christian). I am a scientist that believes in God.

My response to my friend had also a religious basis. I told him that I was also a bullying victim first to make him feel more comfortable and secondly for justifying the help of God in my life. Moreover, our conversation was on religion issues.

My concerns:

Did I do right by saying to my friend that I was also a bullying victim?

Searching in the scientific literature I found out that the majority of studies connect bullying in childhood with poor adult outcomes.

Check for example the following study:

Wolke, D., Copeland, W. E., Angold, A., & Costello, E. J. (2013). Impact of bullying in childhood on adult health, wealth, crime, and social outcomes. Psychological science, 24(10), 1958-1970.

The above study found that victims of childhood bullying including those that bullied others (bully-victim) were at increased risk of poor health, wealth and social relationship outcomes in adulthood.

How I will “legalize-justify” my today academic and social successful position if I was a bullying victim in childhood?