The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How to construct a waterproof sound box to emit vibrations/Chladni plate?  (Read 1005 times)

Offline Garvock

• First timers
    • View Profile
I am an art student currently at the beginning on an Art, Science and Visual Thinking module. My initial research has led me to Chladni plates where sand can be used to visualise sound vibrations, and the use of a non newtonian fluid on a  speaker using certain frequencies. My current aim is to create my own Chladni plate where I use a loudspeaker and something that emits a tone at certain frequencies as research, I also hope to experiment with a high speed camera and perhaps oil and water to capture the patters and relations made by the sound vibrations. Once this is done I hope to create artwork which is based on these patterns.
The issue that I have is I am primarily an artist, I most often spend my time researching art and creating things for my degree course. I am not technologically minded, or scientifically minded for that matter and so the maths, science and technology of what I am wanting to do goes completely over my head. So I need to create an enclosure of some sort which is fair enough, I can do that, but when it comes to the speaker and how to emit the tone/vibrations I am a bit lost. Some research on speakers has uncovered that I can purchase low range, mid range and high range speakers, I don't really know what the difference is.
Is there anyone with knowledge of speakers/electrics that can advise me of a cost effective way of re-creating the Chladni plate and what speaker type/size is the best to purchase?
Also I would assume that water on most speakers would cause damage? and so I therefore assume that I would also need a waterproof speaker?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated,

Thank You

Offline Colin2B

• Global Moderator
  • Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile