The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Is this telescope useless except as a toy?  (Read 499 times)

Offline annie123

• View Profile
Is this telescope useless except as a toy?
« on: 09/10/2016 21:27:25 »
I bought a telescope at a sale - I've never had one before - don't know much about them - it seemed a bargain. I have tried it in the daytime and seem to get an OK image of treetops etc. but when i tried to get the moon at a full/bright time I couldn't get a good image. I know it's further away - duh - but am I too naive re a good image, let alone any stars/planets?
It only came with 2 lenses-9mm and 25mm.
It's Meade model 230 60mm Altazimuth refracting telescope

Offline Semaphore

• View Profile
Re: Is this telescope useless except as a toy?
« Reply #1 on: 09/10/2016 22:03:42 »
I'm no expert but it looks like it retails at about $80?

I bought a Newtonian for around 400 which was good enough to show Jupiter and its moons plus pretty good close-ups of the moon. I can't find the manual, though.

Offline RD

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 10/10/2016 07:58:24 »
... 60mm ...

Quote from: ozscopes.com
What can you expect to see with your telescope?

60mm (2.3in) to 70mm (2.8in) aperture or equivalent
With telescopes of this aperture size, you'll be able to see the moon and her craters, as well as some of the bigger planets. Although they won't be able to see them in the greatest of detail, you can easily see things like the rings of Saturn, as well as most nebulae.
http://www.ozscopes.com.au/what-can-you-expect-to-see-with-a-telescope.html

On a 60mm aperture lens, Jupiter looks like this (at best) ...

http://www.cloudynights.com/topic/547405-mayflower-816-d76-f1200/?p=7387177

and its moons will be points of light.

So not as good as the Hubble space telescope ... http://www.nasa.gov/press-release/goddard/hubble-s-planetary-portrait-captures-new-changes-in-jupiter-s-great-red-spot