The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Pain in chest  (Read 4944 times)

Offline Quantumcat

• The Kitty Down Under
    • View Profile
Pain in chest
« on: 21/03/2004 08:33:23 »
Is having a pain in your chest something bad or is it nothing to worry about?

Am I dead? Am I alive? I'm both!

Offline neilep

• Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
    • View Profile
Re: Pain in chest
« Reply #1 on: 21/03/2004 13:55:31 »
Erin, I'm no doctor but I would have thought a constant pain in the chest could indicate a number of things, Indigestion for example, trapped wind,however, is it you or someone else ?, if it's accompanied by an ache down an arm or two, it could be indicative of something else.......I don't want to worry you, but perhaps a visit to the doctor is worthwhile, especially if it won't go away......Hopefully, one of the medical chappys or chappess's will answer you here though. I wish you better. Chances are, you just got indigestion, have you taken any antacids ?

'Men are the same as women...just inside out !'

Offline bezoar

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 21/03/2004 15:48:37 »
Generally, it's not much to worry about in a young person.  You have to know what type of pain -- sharp or dull, constant or intermittant, can it be reproduced by pressing on your breastbone, have you had a cold recently, been doing any extra exercise or heavy lifting?

Typically, the chest pain of a heart attack is rarely described as pain.  People tell you it feels like a pressure in their chest, like a band squeezing their chest, like a heaviness in the chest, etc.  Put that together with some or any of the following symptoms:  shortness of breath, cold sweats, pain radiating to the arm, shoulder or jaw, dizziness, nausea, feeling faint.  Those things point more to a heart attack.

Offline Quantumcat

• The Kitty Down Under
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 23/03/2004 17:01:33 »