The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Is taurine the new legal cocaine?  (Read 11076 times)

Offline Cut Chemist

• View Profile
Is taurine the new legal cocaine?
« on: 09/07/2007 08:53:09 »
I'm a chemist, and I'm fairly interested in biochemistry.  Some friends of mine are excited about this relatively new compound that has recently invaded every convenience store in the United States in the form of "energy drinks" (Red Bull, SoBe and the like.)
They've been asking me about...

Taurine.

Here's the wikipedia link...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taurine

My research has produced many differing views. 
Here are a few questions...

First ... Is taurine really an amino acid???

The structure of taurine has an amine and a sulfonate functional group, which is considered a sulfonic acid, however an amino acid (by definition) should contain a carboxylic acid.  Taurine has no carboxylic acid.  Is it truly considered an amino acid?  Or is this some marketing scheme to make everyone think it is natural and not harmful?

Is taurine beneficial?

Several sites I've visited have suggested that taurine should be taken everyday, similar to vitamins.  I do not understand the physiological role enough to determine if this is true.  What is taurine's natural function?  Is it good to take daily doses of taurine??
(I know that body builders do but what about an average person?)

Is it harmful??

Other sites suggest that if you take it everyday you will develop a dependence and become addicted.  (This seems like it would be logical)  Still others say that it may increase the heart rate, and could damage the heart.  I realize that its relatively new, but has anyone heard of someone becoming addicted to taurine??  Is it as bad for the heart as most stimulants are?? 

What (if there are any) are the adverse side effects??

Thanks in advance for the info/suggestions...
« Last Edit: 05/07/2016 08:49:10 by chris »

Offline chris

• Neilep Level Member