The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Double Slit Experiment - Need an Explanation Please  (Read 5919 times)

Heronumber0

Go easy here guys, I am a biologist and not a knowledgeable one at that!
In the double slit experiment:

The double-slit experiment consists of letting light diffract through two slits, which produces fringes or wave-like interference patterns on a screen. These interference patterns will result in projected light and dark regions that correspond to where the light waves have constructively (added) and destructively (subtracted) interfered.

The experiment can also be performed with a beam of electrons or atoms, showing similar interference patterns; this is taken as evidence of the "wave-particle duality" predicted by quantum physics. Note, however, that a double-slit experiment can also be performed with water waves in a ripple tank; the explanation of the observed wave phenomena does not require quantum mechanics in any way. The phenomenon is quantum mechanical only when quantum particles—such as atoms, electrons, or photons—manifest as waves.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Double-slit_experiment

My question to people who know about this stuff: do the particles fired at the slit actually interact with the atoms that the double slit is made in? Also if the interference pattern can be interrupted by a detector placed behind the slit, do the atoms of the detector affect the results? Also could the detector not be atomic or subatomic? Finally, could you fire something big through the slits and get the same pattern (e.g. graphite balls)?

« Last Edit: 10/07/2007 19:04:45 by Heronumber0 »

Offline DoctorBeaver

• Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile

Offline Soul Surfer

• Neilep Level Member
  • keep banging the rocks together
    • View Profile
    • ian kimber's web workspace
Double Slit Experiment - Need an Explanation Please
« Reply #2 on: 11/07/2007 09:38:39 »