The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: do people with big ears have better hearing?  (Read 19225 times)

paul.fr

do people with big ears have better hearing?
« on: 13/07/2007 12:43:27 »
at work yesterday, someone said i looked like Gary Lineker! now i was not sure if this was because i was eating a packet of crisps or if they were saying i had big ears.

any way, this got me thinking. do people with big ears have better hearing. can big ears pull more sound in, like a satellite dish, say.

Offline Karen W.

• Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 13/07/2007 12:55:31 »
I have always heard that that is true as the bigger ear traps more sound..by protruding out further... I am no expert but In Choir we were taught to extend our hands in a cup around and behind our ears which would definitely trap the sound of our own voice and echo it back to our eardrum better because of the area your hand is covering.. try it I believe it answers your question.. they catch more sound!
« Last Edit: 13/07/2007 12:57:58 by Karen W. »

Offline dentstudent

• Neilep Level Member
  • FOGger to the unsuspecting
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 13/07/2007 13:01:01 »
Bigger ears will catch more sound, but of course it depends on the actual hearing capacity of the inner ear itself. So it doesn't necessarily follow that they can hear better, only potentially.

Not all big ears are for listening though - elephants (again!) have big ears to help cooling blood.

Offline Karen W.

• "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 13/07/2007 13:06:39 »
I Know that about elephants I thought elephants had incredible hearing.. I thought that was a trait with them.. am I wrong??

another_someone

« Reply #4 on: 13/07/2007 13:07:53 »
All things being equal, probably so.