The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: placenta  (Read 4494 times)

Offline alastair84

• View Profile
placenta
« on: 14/05/2004 00:54:23 »
Is the placenta derived from the mother or from the embryo?
If it is derived from the embryo, how does it not cause an immune reaction?

-another past exam question haha.

Offline Donnah

• Ma-Donnah
  • Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Re: placenta
« Reply #1 on: 14/05/2004 01:06:32 »
I'm no expert, but I think it's derived from the mother.  It's there to nourish the baby, so how could it come from the baby?

I remember bovine cesareans where vets pulled the cotyledons off the uterine wall.  Fascinating.  I'd love to see a human c-section.

Offline alastair84

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 14/05/2004 01:42:40 »
saw one on video. The woman was like "is it out yet?" and was so relaxed it was funny.
hmmmm....I just found a little bit in a book, it says the placenta comes from trophoblast cells, which come from the zygote. so i guess this means they're not maternally derived? Can someone definately confirm/disprove this?

Offline calcaneus

• First timers
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 14/05/2004 02:45:26 »
Placenta is organ derivated partialy from embryonic component, and partialy from endometrium utheri.

Chorion frondosum is fetal component (it proliferates into vili chorioidales).
Decidua basalis is maternal component. It has number of cavities (intervilous spaces) filled with mothers blood.

Embryo with its covering stuctures is geneticly unique foreign body. Immune reaction is not caused because of changed expression of MHC antigens from trophoblast cells.
MHC antigens are superficial molecules. Identified by T-lymfocites, forein cells with MHC antigens are being destroyed.
That is why trophoblast cells DO NOT produce MHC antigens.

no MHC antigens > no foreign cells > no immune reaction

Offline alastair84

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: 14/05/2004 12:34:49 »