The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Does the sponsor of research effect the results  (Read 3907 times)

Offline pete_inthehills

• View Profile
    • The Beggshill Bothy
Does the sponsor of research effect the results
« on: 10/09/2007 21:41:58 »
Once upon a time, many beers ago, when I was intelligent I worked as a researcher in an educational establishment.  I was offered a sponsored PHD.  Thankfully I was just stupid enough to know that I'd never finish it and declined the offer, but it got me to thinking.

Do researchers, post docs etc feel pressure from the sponsor to find the "right" answer?

Are you worried that if you go off party line you'll never get another funding award and have to cut your hair and get a real job?

pete
inthehills

Offline JimBob

• Global Moderator
  • Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 10/09/2007 22:21:17 »
yes

Offline pete_inthehills

• View Profile
    • The Beggshill Bothy
« Reply #2 on: 10/09/2007 22:24:55 »
short and to the point, JimBob, like it.

You don't feel the urge to elaborate on your answer?

A few pithy anecdotes?

pete
inthehills

Offline DoctorBeaver

• Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 10/09/2007 22:26:59 »
It most certainly does happen. I've heard quite a few stories of research being directed down dubious paths. I've also seen results of research that have made me concerned about the validity of the methodologies employed.

I had a rant here the other day about misleading statistics. I'm always very wary of papers that only quote percentages rather than giving actual figures. I wonder why hard figures are not given. Then again, I'm a cynical old rodent.

Fortunately I was in a position to be able to fund my own PhD research so the only pressure I was under came from myself & my research director.

Offline JimBob

• Global Moderator
  • Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile