How can a solvent be used to remove hydrocarbons from soil samples?

• 4 Replies

Offline salmike

• First timers
    • View Profile
Hello, new to the forum, hoping someone can help.

I currently work in an organics department in an enviromental company, doing solvent extractions for hydrocarbons (all) ( the wrong field for me really as im a biologist and doing this as a industrial practice position in a different field)

Im currently writing a review as a peice of university work and have become baffled.

Im really stuck on understanding the interactions between solvent and analyte when testing soils. Does the solvent bind to the hydrocarbon?does it simply change the polarity to allow it to become misicible? does it change the structure?  (basically im pulling my hair out)

Once ive conqured this barrier i can continue.

Can anyone help me out...prefereablly with a simple explained straight forward diagram...designed for a 2year old? hehe j/k

anyway thanks

mike
« Last Edit: 03/06/2008 12:10:07 by chris »

Offline Bored chemist

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
I will try to help, but I'm a bit uncertain what you are doing.
If I wanted to measure the hydrocarbons in (for example) soil I would wash them out with some suiable solvent. Filter out the solid soil then analyse the solution.
I'm not sure what solvent I'd use, probably dichloromethane.
The extraaction process isn't anythng magical. The analyte simply dissolves in it.
Please disregard all previous signatures.

Offline pangallo

• First timers
    • View Profile
Hi salmike,