The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: What determines the maximum speed of an object in space?  (Read 4708 times)

Offline davissp14

• First timers
    • View Profile
With little to no resistance to applied to an object in space, what causes an object to hit its max speed?

Also is it our limitation of applied force that prevents us from reaching speeds beyond light?

Note: I have no background in physics, just something I am curious about.

« Last Edit: 25/08/2012 08:20:16 by chris »

Offline Soul Surfer

• Neilep Level Member
  • keep banging the rocks together
    • View Profile
    • ian kimber's web workspace
Re: Max Speed of an object in space.
« Reply #1 on: 25/08/2012 07:40:50 »
There may be no resistance that causes an object to slow down but it always requires a force to accelerate an object  this is defined by the well known relationship  force = mass x acceleration.

Offline Emc2

• <-- free thinker ..
    • View Profile
    • getting there
Re: Max Speed of an object in space.
« Reply #2 on: 25/08/2012 08:14:05 »
and about the speed of light, that is a constant, and as of yet, there is not the physics or the reality that could allow us to travel faster then the speed of light........

it is around 300,000 kilometers per hour I believe......

aim a flashlight in a darkroom at a wall, turn on the flash light, that's a speed I doubt humans can achieve, ever....
   unless things such as worm holes and the like are reality...

Offline chris

• Neilep Level Member
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists
Re: What determines the maximum speed of an object in space?
« Reply #3 on: 25/08/2012 08:21:34 »
Just to clarify, the speed of light is constant for any given medium; light actually travels at a slightly slower speed in a more dense medium - like glass - compared with a less dense medium, like air.

Offline Emc2

• <-- free thinker ..
    • View Profile
    • getting there