The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Marijuana- effects? ...bizarre case  (Read 9118 times)

Offline Quixote

• First timers
    • View Profile
Marijuana- effects? ...bizarre case
« on: 14/03/2003 00:19:49 »
Hello every one- I was wondering if anyone could give me an explanation or ideas for causal concerning this situation.

I am a biology student, but not necessarily a fan of marijuana- I do have friends however that are.  One in particular was an avid smoker for about two years, until recently, he developed a conditioned response to the inhalation of smoke from the plant.  The first episode came randomly, without warning, and every time he's tried to smoke since then, he experianced an extremely elevated heart rate, which essentially caused him shortness of breath, etc.  The degree of the heart rate increase seemed to be proportional to the amount of THC (tetrahydrolcannibinol) consumed.  

This intrigued me, and I was just wondering if anyone could shed some light on the topic for me.  The first time it had happened, the doctors originally diagnosed him with an anxiety attack.  The marijuana was not laced.  And this person has never exhibited any forms of anxiety before or since then... in fact he has always been one of the most relaxed, laid-back people I've ever met.  

Any comments/suggestions are encouraged and appreciated-  Have a great day- to all!!!!

Offline Donnah

• Ma-Donnah
  • Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Re: Marijuana- effects? ...bizarre case
« Reply #1 on: 15/03/2003 02:01:55 »
Hi Quixote,
Was your friend smoking mj that was organic, or hydroponic?  If it was hydroponic and was not "flushed" (fed only water) for 3 weeks prior to harvest, your friend could be reacting to the chemical nutrients.  You can get a LOT more information from my friend who does medical research on mj and develops web pages.  Go to  www.daystarconcepts.com and email her from there.  Tell her Donnah sent you.  Hope this helps.